People

Lab Directors


Maryellen C. MacDonald

user_avatarDonald P. Hayes Professor of Psychology

Professor of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D. in Psychology, 1986, University of California, Los Angeles

E-Mail: mcmacdonald@wisc.edu
Phone: (608) 262-3986
Fax: (608) 262-4029
532 Psychology Building

The relationship between language production, comprehension and working memory.


 Mark S. Seidenberg

Vilas Research Professor
Donald O. Hebb Professor
Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience

Professor of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D., 1980, Columbia University

E-Mail: seidenberg@wisc.edu 
Phone: (608)263-2553
Fax: (608) 262-4029
534 Psychology Bldg

Reading, dyslexia, learning, brain.  Brief summaries of current projects are here.

 

 

 Graduate Students


Mark Koranda

IMG_3869Graduate Student

B.A. in Psychology and Arabic, 2013, University of St. Thomas, Minnesota

E-Mail: mjkoranda@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

The role of the manual-visual modality in communication systems.


Elise Hopman

Graduate Student

B.Sc. in Mathematics – 2012
B.Sc. in Physics – 2012
M.Sc. in Cognitive Neuroscience – 2015
Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
E-Mail: hopman@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

The differential roles that language production and language comprehension might play during language learning.


 Matt Cooper Borkenhagen

Graduate Student

B.A., Linguistics/ Literature – Univ. of California at Santa Cruz, 2004
M.A., Linguistics – San Francisco State University, 2013
M.A., Education – San Jose State University, 2015
E-Mail: cooperborken@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

Language in reading, writing and mathematical cognition and performance, in both typically and atypically developing children.


 Steve Schwering

Graduate Student

B. A. in Psychology and English – The College of New Jersey
E-Mail: schwering@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building


 

Research Assistants


Xiaofan Lei

IMG_0270bMaster’s Student

Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), Psychology and Communication Sciences & Disorders. 2017.

E-Mail: xlei7@wisc.edu

 


Amanda Timmerman

user_avatarUndergraduate Student

Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), Psychology and Communication Sciences & Disorders. 2017.

E-Mail: antimmerman@wisc.edu

 

I am interested in language production and cognitive processing associated with language. I am in hopes of pursuing a gradute degree in speech langauge pathology after undergrad.


Christine White

Undergraduate Student

Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), Psychology and German. 2017.

E-Mail: cmwhite4@wisc.edu

 

I am interested in the cognitive mechanisms and processes required for language production, and how these are influenced by context and task demands.


Sarah Wang

Undergraduate Student

Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) Biochemistry. 2017.

E-Mail: sfwang@wisc.edu

 

I am interested in understanding the relationship between linguistic representations and other cognitive skills (e.g., math).


Lacey Grant

Undergraduate Student

Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), Psychology, Certificate in Religious Studies. 2017.
E-Mail: lgrant3@wisc.edu

 

I’m a prospective Occupational Therapy student interested in how our unconscious thoughts can influence language production.


Teresa Turco

user_avatarUndergraduate Student

Bachelor of Science (B.S.), Psychology and Economics with a Mathematical Focus. 2018.

E-Mail: tturco@wisc.edu

 

I am interested in learning and perception, and I hope to pursue a graduate degree in a few years.


Natalie Ghaffari-Nikou

Undergraduate Student

Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), Psychology and Middle Eastern Studies. 2018.

E-Mail: nghaffarinik@wisc.edu

 

My interest is the impact of culture on language and, therefore, thought.


Sarah Engel

Undergraduate Student

Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), Psychology and Spanish. 2017.

E-Mail: slengel@wisc.edu

 

I’m interested in language acquisition, bilingualism, and the mistakes we make in language and what they imply about the brain.


Jocelyn Marks

Undergraduate Student

Bachelor of Science (B.S.), Spanish and Human Development/Family Studies,
Certificate in Dance and Movement Therapy. 2018.

E-Mail: jhmarks2@wisc.edu

 


Crystal Hanson

Undergraduate Student

Bachelor of Science (B.S.), Psychology, Certificate in Global Health. 2014.
Bachelor of Science (B. S.), Nursing. 2018.

E-Mail: crhanson3@wisc.edu

 

Comments are closed