People

Lab Directors


Maryellen C. MacDonald

user_avatarDonald P. Hayes Professor of Psychology

Professor of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D. in Psychology, 1986, University of California, Los Angeles

E-Mail: mcmacdonald@wisc.edu
Phone: (608) 262-3986
Fax: (608) 262-4029
532 Psychology Building

The relationship between language production, comprehension and working memory.


 Mark S. Seidenberg

Vilas Research Professor
Donald O. Hebb Professor
Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience

Professor of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D., 1980, Columbia University

E-Mail: seidenberg@wisc.edu 
Phone: (608)263-2553
Fax: (608) 262-4029
534 Psychology Bldg

Reading, dyslexia, learning, brain.  Brief summaries of current projects are here.

 

 

 Graduate Students


Mark Koranda

IMG_3869Graduate Student

B.A. in Psychology and Arabic, 2013, University of St. Thomas, Minnesota

E-Mail: mjkoranda@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

The role of the manual-visual modality in communication systems.


Elise Hopman

Graduate Student

B.Sc. in Mathematics – 2012
B.Sc. in Physics – 2012
M.Sc. in Cognitive Neuroscience – 2015
Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
E-Mail: hopman@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

The differential roles that language production and language comprehension might play during language learning.


 Matt Cooper Borkenhagen

Graduate Student

B.A. in Linguistics/ Literature – Univ. of California at Santa Cruz, 2004
M.A. in Linguistics – San Francisco State University, 2013
M.A. in Education – San Jose State University, 2015
M.S. in Psychology – UW Madison, 2017
E-Mail: cooperborken@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

Language in reading performance in both typically and atypically developing populations.


 Steve Schwering

Graduate Student

B. A. in Psychology and English – The College of New Jersey
E-Mail: schwering@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building


 

 

 Lab Manager


Misty Kabasa

IMG_3869Lab Manager

B.S. in Linguistics – University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2017
B.S. in Communication Sciences and Disorders – University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2017
E-Mail: kabasa@wisc.edu
622 Psychology Building

The influence of non-mainstream dialects and language acquisition on academic and social development.


 

Research Assistants


Xiaofan Lei

IMG_0270bMaster’s Student

B.A.  Psychology and Communication Sciences & Disorders. 2017.

E-Mail: xlei7@wisc.edu

 


Sarah Wang

Undergraduate Student

B.A. Biochemistry. 2017.

E-Mail: sfwang@wisc.edu

I am interested in understanding the relationship between linguistic representations and other cognitive skills (e.g., math).


Lacey Grant

Undergraduate Student

B.A. Psychology, Certificate in Religious Studies. 2017.

E-Mail: lgrant3@wisc.edu

I’m a prospective Occupational Therapy student interested in how our unconscious thoughts can influence language production.


Teresa Turco

user_avatarUndergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology and Economics with a Mathematical Focus. 2018.

E-Mail: tturco@wisc.edu

I am interested in learning and perception, and I hope to pursue a graduate degree in a few years.


Natalie Ghaffari-Nikou

Undergraduate Student

B.A. Psychology and Middle Eastern Studies. 2018.

E-Mail: nghaffarinik@wisc.edu

My interest is the impact of culture on language and, therefore, thought.


Sarah Engel

Undergraduate Student

B.A. Psychology and Spanish. 2017.

E-Mail: slengel@wisc.edu

I’m interested in language acquisition, bilingualism, and the mistakes we make in language and what they imply about the brain.


Jocelyn Marks

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Spanish and Human Development/Family Studies,
Certificate in Dance and Movement Therapy. 2018.

E-Mail: jhmarks2@wisc.edu

Matt Borman

Special Student in Psychology

B.A. Political Science, Spanish (UW-Madison, 2009).

E-Mail: borman@wisc.edu

Interested in the relationship between the structures of language and the ways we come to understand and describe the world around us.


Megan McClement

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology. 2018.

E-Mail: mmcclement@wisc.edu

I am interested in cultural differences in language, and how they can help us come to understand one another.


Crystal Hanson

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology, Certificate in Global Health. 2014.
B. S. Nursing. 2018.

E-Mail: crhanson3@wisc.edu

 


Comments are closed