People


Lab Directors


Maryellen C. MacDonald

user_avatarDonald P. Hayes Professor of Psychology

Professor of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D. in Psychology, 1986, University of California, Los Angeles

 

 

E-Mail: mcmacdonald@wisc.edu
Phone: (608) 262-3986
Fax: (608) 262-4029
532 Psychology Building

The relationship between language production, comprehension and working memory.


 Mark S. Seidenberg

Vilas Research Professor
Donald O. Hebb Professor
Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience

Professor of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D., 1980, Columbia University

E-Mail: seidenberg@wisc.edu 
Phone: (608)263-2553
Fax: (608) 262-4029
534 Psychology Bldg

Reading, dyslexia, learning, brain.  Brief summaries of current projects are here.


Postdoctoral Research Associate


Cassandra Jacobs

Postdoctoral Research Associate

Ph.D. in Cognitive Psychology, 2017, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Master of Science, Computer Science, 2016, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Master of Arts, Psychology, 2013, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Bachelor of Arts, Linguistics and Psychology, 2010, University of Texas at Austin
E-Mail: cjacobs2@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

How language use reflects learning and experience, and how language can impact memory.


 Graduate Students


Mark Koranda

IMG_3869Graduate Student

B.A. in Psychology and Arabic, 2013, University of St. Thomas, Minnesota
E-Mail: mjkoranda@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

Planning of sentence structure and word choice in speech production and (signed language) modality effects in production.


Elise Hopman

Graduate Student

B.Sc. in Mathematics – Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands, 2012
B.Sc. in Physics – Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands, 2012
M.Sc. in Cognitive Neuroscience – Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands, 2015
M.S. in Psychology – University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA, 2017
E-Mail: hopman@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

The differential roles that language production and language comprehension might play during language learning.


 Matt Cooper Borkenhagen

Graduate Student

B.A. in Linguistics/ Literature – Univ. of California at Santa Cruz, 2004
M.A. in Linguistics – San Francisco State University, 2013
M.A. in Education – San Jose State University, 2015
M.S. in Psychology – UW Madison, 2017
E-Mail: cooperborken@wisc.edu
610 Psychology Building

Language in reading performance in both typically and atypically developing populations.


 Steve Schwering

Graduate Student

B.A. in Psychology and English – The College of New Jersey
E-Mail: schwering@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

Memory and language production planning; syntax and other forms of hierarchical planning learned from experience.


Arella Gussow

Graduate Student

B.A. in Psychology and Linguistics – The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel, 2016
M.Sc. in Cognitive Neuroscience of Language – Basque Center on Brain, Cognition and Language (BCBL), Spain, 2017
E-Mail: gussow@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

Matt Borman

Graduate Student

B.A. in Political Science and Spanish, University of Wisconsin – Madison, 2009
E-Mail: borman@wisc.edu
610 Psychology Building

The relationship between the structures of language and the ways we come to understand and describe the world around us.


 Lab Manager


Misty Kabasa

IMG_3869Lab Manager

B.S. in Linguistics – University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2017
B.S. in Communication Sciences and Disorders – University of Wisconsin – Madison, 2017
E-Mail: kabasa@wisc.edu
611 Psychology Building

Language variation, language acquisition, phonetics, speech science and sociolinguistics.


Research Assistants


Josh Geiger

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology. 2019

E-Mail: geiger4@wisc.edu

I am interested in how language impacts how we think about other areas of cognition, specifically other academic fields.


Emily Perez

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Economics and German, Certificate in Global Health. 2020.

E-Mail: eperez4@wisc.edu

I am interested in the factors contributing to the 30 million word gap and the reading differences between socioeconomic groups.


Chenli Wang

Post-Bac

B.S. Psychology. 2019.

E-Mail: cwang496@wisc.edu@wisc.edu

I am interested in second language acquisition.


Avalon McDonald-Lewis

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology and Spanish. 2021.

E-Mail: amcdonaldlew@wisc.edu

I enjoy learning about the biological bases of psychology, language, and the brain.


Carissa Witthuhn

Undergraduate Student

B.A. Communication Sciences and Disorders, Certificate in Gender and Women’s Studies. 2020.

E-Mail: witthuhn2@wisc.edu

Najhee Purdy

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Biochemistry, Certificate in Global Health. 2021.

E-Mail: npurdy@wisc.edu

I am interested in the cognitive differences between monolinguals and bilinguals and the underlying mechanisms that cause these differences.


Sydney Polzin

Undergraduate Student

Undeclared. 2021.

E-Mail: sepolzin@wisc.edu

I am interested in the relationship between culture and language and bilingualism.


Lauren Schilling

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology, Certificate in Education and Educational Services (EES), Certificate in Educational Policy Studies. 2021.

E-Mail: lpschilling@wisc.edu

I am interested in reading processes/acquisition and their application in school settings.


Sylvannah Lang

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology with Neuroscience Concentration. 2020.

E-Mail: slang3@wisc.edu

I enjoy uncovering the brain’s countless functions in our everyday lives. I am intrigued by language production, planning, learning and retention.


Skye Stanwich

Undergraduate Student

B.A. Psychology, Certificate in Gender and Women’s Studies. 2021

E-Mail: stanwich@wisc.edu

I am interested in developmental psychology and the cognitive processes involved in language.


Elena Groves

Undergraduate Student

B.A. Communication Sciences & Disorders & Linguistics. 2021.

E-Mail: ekgroves@wisc.edu

As an aspiring speech-language pathologist, a few of my interests include language acquisition, bilingualism, and communication/hearing deficits.


Mengyuan Yang

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology & Biology. 2021.

E-Mail: mwang387@wisc.edu

I am interested in how language embodies our mind and thoughts.


River Steen

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology & Communication Sciences and Disorders. 2022.

E-Mail: rjsteen@wisc.edu

Miriam Lebowitz

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology & Computer Science. 2021.

E-Mail: melebowitz@wisc.edu

I’m interested in learning about constructed languages and how they can help us better learn about language acquisition.


Rubiarbriana Jamison

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology. 2021.

E-Mail: rejamison@wisc.edu

I’m aspiring to go to grad school and become a clinical psychologist.


Kaycie Barron

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology and Spanish. 2022.

E-Mail: kdbarron@wisc.edu

I am interested in learning about what makes language pedagogies/curricula effective and hope to learn more about language acquisition.


Sarah McLeod

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology & English, Certificate in Gender and Women’s Studies. 2022.

E-Mail: smcleod2@wisc.edu

Hannah Bressi

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology and Studio Art. 2021.

E-Mail: bressi@wisc.edu

I am a sophomore studying psychology from Philadelphia, PA.


Dasha Yermol

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology. 2021.

E-Mail: yermol@wisc.edu

I am interested in cognitive psychology and the relationship between language and thought.


Sichao Yang

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology, Mathematics, Computer Science. 2020.

E-Mail: syang4546@wisc.edu

I am exploring the intersection of human and artificial intelligence research.


Beixi Dong

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology, Statistics. 2021.

E-Mail: bdong28@wisc.edu

I love psychology, statistics and cats.


Yuzhe Gu

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Computer Science, Psychology. 2021.

E-Mail: gu73@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate and I am interested in participating in psychology research.


Kristin Mccloskey

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Communication Sciences & Disorders. 2020.

E-Mail: mccloskey2@wisc.edu

I am interested in language acquisition, and what impacts atypical circumstances can have on language development.


Quin Perrault

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Neurobiology, Certificate in Health and Humanities. 2021.

E-Mail: qperrault@wisc.edu

Shangfeng Jin

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology & Computer Sciences & Mathematics, Certificate in Japanese. 2020.

E-Mail: sjin59@wisc.edu

Comments are closed