People

Lab Directors


Maryellen C. MacDonald

user_avatarDonald P. Hayes Professor of Psychology

Professor of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D. in Psychology, 1986, University of California, Los Angeles

 

E-Mail: mcmacdonald@wisc.edu
Phone: (608) 262-3986
Fax: (608) 262-4029
532 Psychology Building

The relationship between language production, comprehension and working memory.


 Mark S. Seidenberg

Vilas Research Professor
Donald O. Hebb Professor
Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience

Professor of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D., 1980, Columbia University

E-Mail: seidenberg@wisc.edu 
Phone: (608)263-2553
Fax: (608) 262-4029
534 Psychology Bldg

Reading, dyslexia, learning, brain.  Brief summaries of current projects are here.

 

 

 Graduate Students


Mark Koranda

IMG_3869Graduate Student

B.A. in Psychology and Arabic, 2013, University of St. Thomas, Minnesota

E-Mail: mjkoranda@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

Planning of sentence structure and word choice in speech production and (signed language) modality effects in production.


Elise Hopman

Graduate Student

B.Sc. in Mathematics – Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands, 2012
B.Sc. in Physics – Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands, 2012
M.Sc. in Cognitive Neuroscience – Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands, 2015
M.S. in Psychology – University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA, 2017
E-Mail: hopman@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building

The differential roles that language production and language comprehension might play during language learning.


 Matt Cooper Borkenhagen

Graduate Student

B.A. in Linguistics/ Literature – Univ. of California at Santa Cruz, 2004
M.A. in Linguistics – San Francisco State University, 2013
M.A. in Education – San Jose State University, 2015
M.S. in Psychology – UW Madison, 2017
E-Mail: cooperborken@wisc.edu
610 Psychology Building

Language in reading performance in both typically and atypically developing populations.


 Steve Schwering

Graduate Student

B. A. in Psychology and English – The College of New Jersey
E-Mail: schwering@wisc.edu
618 Psychology Building


 

 

 Lab Manager


Misty Kabasa

IMG_3869Lab Manager

B.S. in Linguistics – University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2017
B.S. in Communication Sciences and Disorders – University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2017
E-Mail: kabasa@wisc.edu
622 Psychology Building

Language variation, language acquisition, phonetics, speech science and sociolinguistics.


 

Research Assistants


Xiaofan Lei

IMG_0270bMaster’s Student

B.A. Psychology and Communication Sciences & Disorders. 2017.

E-Mail: xlei7@wisc.edu

 


Sarah Heinze

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Communication Sciences & Disorders. 2020.

E-Mail: sheinze2@wisc.edu

I am interested in speech impediments, specifically the anatomy and neurology of the disorders.


Teresa Turco

user_avatarUndergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology and Economics with a Mathematical Focus. 2018.

E-Mail: tturco@wisc.edu

I am interested in learning and perception, and I hope to pursue a graduate degree in a few years.


Natalie Ghaffari-Nikou

Undergraduate Student

B.A. Psychology and Middle Eastern Studies. 2018.

E-Mail: nghaffarinik@wisc.edu

My interest is the impact of culture on language and, therefore, thought.


Sarah Engel

UW-Madison Graduate

B.A. Psychology and Spanish. 2017.

E-Mail: slengel@wisc.edu

I’m interested in language acquisition, bilingualism, and the mistakes we make in language and what they imply about the brain.


Jocelyn Marks

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Spanish, Psychology emphasis. 2018.

E-Mail: jhmarks2@wisc.edu

I am interested in second language acquisition and the relationship between language and thought.


Matt Borman

 Special Student in Psychology

B.A. Political Science, Spanish (UW-Madison, 2009).

E-Mail: borman@wisc.edu

Interested in the relationship between the structures of language and the ways we come to understand and describe the world around us.


Madison Barker

Undergraduate

B.A. Psychology and Strategic Communications. 2018.

E-Mail: barker4@wisc.edu

I am interested in the impact of language on thought.


Cher Yang

UW-Madison Graduate

B.S. Psychology, Certificate in Computer Science (UW-Madison, 2017).

E-Mail: yyang297@wisc.edu

I’m interested in integrating computational modeling in cognitive psychology, specifically language learning and comprehension.


Josh Geiger

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology. 2019

E-Mail: geiger4@wisc.edu

I am interested in how language impacts how we think about other areas of cognition, specifically other academic fields.


Brooke Marshall

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology. 2020.

E-Mail: bmarshall6@wisc.edu

I am interested in cognitive psychology and hope to pursue a graduate and doctorate degree and become a neuropsychologist.


Maya Salmon

Undergraduate Student

B.A. Communication Sciences and Disorders and Psychology. 2018.

E-Mail: mhsalmon@wisc.edu

I am interested in reading and language production in typical and atypical populations.


Nate Jones

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Neurobiology and Linguistics. 2018.

E-Mail: nejones2@wisc.edu

I’m interested in the various neural representations of language in the brain throughout development and across hemispheres, and how those representations vary with language acquisition.


Emily Perez

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Economics and German, Certificate in Global Health. 2020.

E-Mail: eperez4@wisc.edu

I am interested in the factors contributing to the 30 million word gap and the reading differences between socioeconomic groups.


Chenli Wang

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology. 2020.

E-Mail: cwang496@wisc.edu@wisc.edu

I am interested in second language acquisition.


Avalon McDonald-Lewis

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology and Spanish. 2021.

E-Mail: amcdonaldlew@wisc.edu

I enjoy learning about the biological bases of psychology, language, and the brain.


Jamie Dawson

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology and Afro American Studies. 2019.

E-Mail: jdawson4@wisc.edu

I am interested in advancing understanding of the impact of dialect and accented speech.


Mackenzie Ludin

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology. 2019.

E-Mail: mludin@wisc.edu

I am interested in developmental psychology, and I am hoping to pursue a graduate program in Occupational Therapy.


Morgan Wheeler

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology, Certificate in Studio Art. 2020.

E-Mail: mwheeler6@wisc.edu

I am interested in language acquisition and errors in the language production pathway.


Najhee Purdy

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Biochemistry, Certificate in Global Health. 2021.

E-Mail: npurdy@wisc.edu

I am interested in the cognitive differences between monolinguals and bilinguals and the underlying mechanisms that cause these differences.


Peishi (Bill) Yu

Undergraduate Student

B.A. Psychology. 2019.

E-Mail: pyu52@wisc.edu

I am interested in distinctions of different languages and the acquisition of the second language.


Sydney Polzin

Undergraduate Student

Undeclared. 2021.

E-Mail: sepolzin@wisc.edu

I am interested in the relationship between culture and language and bilingualism.


Alma Reinebach

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology. 2018.

E-Mail: reinebach@wisc.edu

I’m interested in second language acquisition, linguistic relativity, and translation ambiguity.


Lauren Schilling

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Psychology, Certificate in Education and Educational Services (EES), Certificate in Educational Policy Studies. 2021.

E-Mail: lpschilling@wisc.edu

I am interested in reading processes/acquisition and their application in school settings.


Alexandria Thi Doan McDonald

Undergraduate Student

B.S. Undeclared. 2021.

E-Mail: atmcdonald@wisc.edu

I am interested in the discipline of Neuroscience. I wish to study biological and psychological concepts imperative to understanding human behavior.


Comments are closed